Tom L. Aller's career was defined by his tremendous dedication to his city and state, a trait demonstrated in part by his company's response to natural disasters impacting Iowa in the late 2000s. Aller worked at Alliant Energy for more than 20 years and for the City of Cedar Rapids for 17 years prior to that. In 2014, he retired as the President of Alliant's Iowa and Minnesota utility, Interstate Power and Light, and Senior Vice President of Operations Support for Alliant.

Aller's career started in 1972 when he took a position as an executive assistant to Cedar Rapids Mayor Don Canney and the City Council. Among his accomplishments, he helped implement a plan in 1973 to make the Cedar Rapids Airport a self-supporting organization. In 1988, Aller became Executive Vice President of 2001 Development Corp., a company that laid the framework for downtown development projects. He held that position through 2008. In that time, the company played a role in many projects, including the federal courthouse in downtown Cedar Rapids.

Aller joined Alliant's predecessor, IES Industries, in 1993, and took over as President of Interstate Power and Light in 2003. His biggest challenges and proudest accomplishments came in response to the ice storms of 2007 and the flood of 2008. In both instances, Aller and Alliant worked quickly to help restore power for residents in the affected communities. The company's efforts won it an Edison Electric Institute Emergency Response Award both years.

Aller has been heavily involved in the community. He served on the Iowa Business Council for 12 years, including two years as Chair. He served on the Iowa Transportation Commission for eight years, including two years as Chair. Aller served on the Creighton University National Alumni Board, Mount Mercy University Board of Trustees, Wellmark Board of Directors, Cedar Rapids Airport Commission, and Greater Cedar Rapids Community Foundation Board.

Aller was honored in 2014 with the Ryan Companies Master Builder Award for his contributions to economic development in the state. He was elected to the Junior Achievement Hall of Fame in 2014. Previously, he received the Priority 1 Special Service Award, and the Paul Harris Fellow Award at the Rotary Club.